2018 EU -China Tourism Year Parliamentary Day

After its opening ceremony in Venice, the 2018 EU-China Tourism Year (ECTY) has been celebrated by a dedicated Parliamentary Day and EU-China Tourism & Culture Cooperation Summit in Brussels. The event, on 28th February, was organised by the European Travel Commission, the European Parliament, the Europe-China One Belt One Road (OBOR) Culture & Tourism Development Committee and HiSEAS.

Antonio Tajani, President of the European Parliament and Zurab Pololikashvili, recently elected Secretary General of UNWTO attended the Summit and, together with many esteemed diplomats and representative of stakeholder organisations, who discussed the opportunities offered by this initiative to boost tourism ows for China and Europe.

The organisers welcomed, among the participants, His Excellency Ambassador Zhang Ming, Head of the Mission of the People’s Republic of China to the European Union, Slawomir Tokarski Director of DG GROW — Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs of the European Commission, Pan Feng from the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China (MOFCOM) and Duma Wang, CEO of HISEAS, among many others.

After the opening ceremony, the summit featured two panel discussions: in the first panel experts and representatives of European and Chinese Tourism Industries, government institutions, as well as journalists, discussed the role and the possibilities of the EU-China Tourism Year. In the second panel, the main subject focused on how tourism and culture cooperation can be promoted between EU and China.